Around the Rainbow

Writing, thoughts and feelings, with a little randomness

Top 8 Interspecies Couples In Media

on October 19, 2012

Interspecies couples have been around in all forms of fiction for quite a while. And while upon first hearing of it, we can think: “Ew. That’s not for me.” And then we realize, oh yes, we love this. Whether it’s a romance with vampires, aliens, or demons, we seem to secretly enjoy this kind of love. I’ve compiled a list of my favorite interspecies couples, along with honorable mentions and a list of interspecies couples that should have or may happen. WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK! Let’s start!

8. Jake and Neytiri
Movie: Avatar; Species: Jake – Human(Avatar), Neytiri (Alien)
Even though not my favorite, still a cute one. Jake is a human, who becomes an “avatar” to explore the alien world where he meets Neytiri and after some issues lives happily ever after…I hope.

7. Aiden and Vivian
Movie/Book: Blood and Chocolate; Species: Aiden – Human, Vivian – Werewolf
To be very honest, I never saw the movie. I only read the book, and we know how the book ends, not very happy for Vivian at first. I just love this couple because werewolves are just so underrated. And Vivian and Aiden were awesome together.

6. Hideki and Chii
Anime: Chobits; Species: Hideki – Human, Chii – Robot
It’s been awhile since I watched this series, but I remember the love Hideki showed for Chii, and if I remember right, she loved him back. Originally, Chii was a broken robot (that’s not the term used, but I can’t remember) that he found outside, and he took her home, and bam! Here we are putting them on the list!

5. Lupin and Tonks
Movies/Books: The Harry Potter series; Species: Lupin – Werewolf, Tonks – Witch
Another werewolf, ah. I have to love this couple because Tonks seriously loves Lupin. Not only is she always insisting to stay with him despite his protests of being not normal and too old, she has his baby too. How sweet!!!

4. Fred and Laliari
Movie: Galaxy Quest; Species: Fred – Human, Laliari – Alien
There is really not much to say about this couple other than that once you get past the tentacles, it’s really very sweet. Fred meets her upon coming aboard the Thermian ship, and he’s instantly attracted to her, tentacles and all. That must be true love.

3. Renton and Eureka
Anime: Eureka Seven; Species: Renton – Human, Eureka – Alien-ish Being
Yes, that is seriously the best way I can describe her. I can’t remember her actual species name, but it’s alien-like. Eureka was created by some things called the Scrub to observe (if I remember correctly). Renton had an initial attraction to her, and works very hard to keep it a secret, yet get feelings back from her. Later on, she does indeed fall in love with him. And here they are at number three!

2. Roger and Jessica Rabbit
Movie: Who Framed Roger Rabbit; Species: Roger – Rabbit, Jessica – Human
Most people I’ve mention this couple to like to tell me that in the Roger Rabbit universe, they’re both Toons, so they’re the same species. I say nay! I feel like that’s saying a Vulcan and a Klingon are the same species because they’re aliens. They’re just two different alien species, like Roger and Jessica are two different species of Toons. They’re just all jealous of Roger because, well, Jessica really does love him.

1. Kermit and Miss Piggy
Movies/Show: The Muppets; Species: Kermit – Frog, Miss Piggy – Pig
If you haven’t heard of this couple, you’ve been living under a rock since birth. Probably one of the most well known interspecies couples, they’ve been together, and shown love (maybe even obsession on Piggy’s part) toward each other for years. And guess what? They’re still together. They really are the number one couple for this group.

~Honorable Mentions~
This is basically for the couples that, while I was researching, popped up on multiple lists, but I don’t know them too well, so I just want to stick em up here, so you know that I know that they exist.

Fido and Helen
Movie: Fido; Species: Fido – Zombie, Helen – Human

Pygar and Barbarella
Series: Barbarella; Species: Pygar – Angel, Barbarella – Human

Vincent and Catherine
Show: Beauty and the Beast; Species: Vincent – Beast, Catherine – Human

Spike and Buffy
Show: Buffy The Vampire Slayer; Species: Spike – Vampire, Buffy – Human

Allen and Madison
Movie: Splash; Species: Allen – Human, Madison – Mermaid

The Doctor and Rose
Show: Doctor Who; Species: The Doctor – Time Lord, Rose – Human

~Couples We Really Wish Would Happen/Know They Won’t But Still Like The Thought Of~

Beetlejuice and Lydia
Series: Beetlejuice; Species: Beetlejuice – Ghost, Lydia – Human
I don’t mean the movie, either. Whether we were older when we watched the show, or rewatched episodes as an older person to remember our childhood, we saw that Beetlejuice obviously really likes Lydia. There was a whole episode about him being jealous when she was hanging with another ghost. Whether Lydia liked him back like that, I’m not sure. I can’t remember if she ever returned feelings for him during the course of the show. The one thing I do know is that they never would have been together in the series since she can’t be any older than 12 while Beetlejuice is God knows how old. Ghost pedophilia anyone? They’re still cute together.

Spongebob and Sandy
Series: Spongebob Squarepants; Species: Spongebob – Sea Sponge, Sandy – Squirrel
Oh yes, they are here. Whether you like it or not, it’s pretty much shown that Spongebob likes Sandy…a lot. He wrote her song from the bottom of his heart, brings her flowers all the time, and loves to be with her. I want to see this happen.

Dudley Puppy and Miss Kitty
Series: Tuff Puppy; Species: Dudley – Dog, Kitty – Cat
I honestly don’t keep up with this show, but I love the couple either way. My younger brother watches it, and I’ve seen enough episodes to know something should happen, cause it looks like something will and whether this something leads to something else or nothing, I like them together.

Jim and Mala
Movie: Battle For Terra; Species: Jim – Human, Mala – Alien
Most people will tell you this couple was probably never going to happen even if Jim did live. Well I believe there was potential, he just needed to live so it could be explored. I think anyway.

The Baron and Haru
Movie: The Cat Returns, Species: The Baron – Cat Figurine, Haru – Human
I just loved the thought of this couple so much words can’t describe it.

Thor and Jane
Comics: Thor; Species: Thor – God, Jane – Human
I deeply feel that I wasn’t the only person who wanted these two to hook up, and still want them to. I mean come on, they loved each other!

~Unhonorable Mentions~

Edward and Bella
Books/Movies: The Twilight Series; Species: Edward – Vampire, Bella – Human
Oh, you didn’t think I’d forgotten the new poster child of interspecies relationships did you? I won’t lie, I read the books and watched the first two movies. I was okay with the creativity, what I wasn’t okay with was the writing, how bland and whiny Bella was, Bella and Edward’s relationship, and the godawful ending. No big, epic last battle! No gore! I read a vampire book for some blood and fights and/or great storytelling. None of that was there. Anyway, I personally feel Edward and Bella had quite the abusive relationship with him leaving and her turning all risk taking, and the blaming, the angst, the complaining. Where exactly was the love?? Edward, you just gave interspecies relationships a bad name. Bah!

What did you think? Agree? Disagree? Did I miss anyone? Who are your favorite couples?


Talk To Me Baby!